The University of Iowa established the “Kinnick Stadium Wall of Honor” prior to the start of the 2013 season.

Ten former Hawkeyes have their name and jersey number displayed on the Paul W. Brechler Press Box.

#1 – Aubrey Devine (1919-21)

Devine won the Big Ten Conference Medal for Excellence in athletics and academics, and was quarterback and captain of Iowa’s 1921 Big Ten championship team. He led the Hawkeyes in rushing, passing, and scoring in 1919 and 1920. He drop-kicked a field goal to beat Notre Dame, 10-7, in 1921, as Iowa earned a share of its first mythical national championship.

#25 – Randy Duncan (1956-58)

Duncan won Big Ten and Iowa MVP honors when he led the Hawkeyes to a Rose Bowl title in 1959. He finished second in the 1958 Heisman Trophy balloting. Duncan was a two-time all-conference pick, earned Walter Camp and Player of the Year honors from three organizations, and was the No. 1 pick in the 1958 NFL draft. Iowa shared the mythical national title in both 1956 and 1958, while also earning the Grantland Rice Award in 1958, symbolic of the national football championship.

#62 – Calvin Jones (1953-55)

Jones was named to 22 All-America teams in his career and in 1955 was named winner of the Outland Trophy, awarded to the nation’s top interior lineman. He was Iowa’s first two-time consensus All-American, and his No. 62 jersey is one of only two numbers retired by the Hawkeyes.

#77 – Alex Karras (1956-57)

Karras was a Rose Bowl champion and a consensus All-American in 1957. He was the first two-time AP All-American in Iowa history and a winner of the Outland Trophy, awarded to the nation’s top interior lineman. Karras was Heisman Trophy runner-up in 1957, and a member of the inaugural class of the Iowa Lettermen’s Club Hall of Fame.

#24 – Nile Kinnick (1937-39)

Kinnick won the only Heisman Trophy in school history when he swept the Heisman, Maxwell and Walter Camp awards in 1939. He was the Big Ten MVP for Iowa’s legendary 1939 Ironmen team. He was a Phi Beta Kappa scholar and senior class president, his No. 24 jersey is one of two retired numbers at Iowa, and in 1972 the Hawkeyes’ stadium was named in his honor.

#1 – Gordon Locke (1920-22)

Locke primarily played fullback during his Hawkeye career, but in 1922 he was a Walter Camp first team All-America quarterback, and he’s listed as a defensive back on Iowa’s all-time football team. He scored 72 points as a senior to set a then-Big Ten record, and was awarded the Big Ten Medal of Honor (1923).

#16 – Chuck Long (1982-85)

Long quarterbacked the Hawkeyes to the 1986 Rose Bowl, the same year he became the first player in NCAA history to pass for more than 10,000 career yards. He finished runner-up in the closest Heisman Trophy contest in the award’s history in 1985, and previously held the NCAA record for consecutive completions with 22 at Indiana (1984). Long was named a first team All-Big Ten performer three times, including 1985 when he was named conference MVP.

#15 – Duke Slater (1918-21)

Fred “Duke” Slater was a seven-time letterman at the University of Iowa, competing in football and track from 1918-21. He was an All-Big Ten tackle for the Hawkeyes from 1919-21, and an All-America track and field athlete from 1920-21. He is a member of Iowa’s all-time team. In 1928, Slater earned his law degree from the University of Iowa, and in 1951 he became the first black player inducted into the inaugural College Football Hall of Fame.

#36 – Larry Station (1982-85)

Station was named a consensus All-American in 1984 and 1985, becoming just the second Hawkeye in program history to earn multiple honors. He is the only player in school history to lead the team in tackles four times, and in 1985 finished his career with the all-time tackles record (492). Station started the final 42 games of his career, earned All-America mention in each of his four seasons, and is a linebacker on Iowa’s all-time football team. He was a finalist for the Lombardi and Butkus awards in 1985, and was a three-time first team All-Big Ten honoree. He is Iowa’s most recent induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

#99 – Andre Tippett (1979-81)

Tippett was Iowa’s first consensus All-American for Coach Hayden Fry, a two-time first-team All-Big Ten and played for Iowa’s 1981 Rose Bowl squad. He was a team captain in 1981, a defensive end on Iowa’s all-time football team, holds Iowa record for tackles for lost yardage in a season (20 tackles for 153 yards in 1980) and led Big Ten in tackles for loss (20) as a junior. Tippett enjoyed a lengthy NFL career with New England, where he was a five-time All-Pro selection during his 11-year career and was named to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2008. He was named to the National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame in 2021.

#78 – Robert Gallery (2000-03)

Gallery was elected to the National Football Foundation College Football Hall of Fame as a member of the 2023 class. Gallery earned unanimous consensus All-America honors as a senior, earning the Outland Trophy as the top offensive lineman in the nation. He was the Big Ten Conference Offensive Lineman of the Year as a senior and was first-team All-Big Ten in each of his final three seasons. Gallery played a key role as Iowa posted a perfect 8-0 Big Ten record in 2002, sharing the Big Ten title. Gallery was the second player selected in the 2004 NFL Draft (Oakland) and played eight seasons in the NFL.